Tunes for Maintaining Focus

05Jul07

I’m not sure about you, but when I find I work best when I have some sort of music playing in the background. Whether I’m studying for a mid-term, or pumping out a paper, I find music helps retain my focus on the task at hand.I have playlists for different types of assignments, too. When I have to do a lot of heavy reading I tend to listen to music sans-lyrics, like classical. I sometimes find myself distracted by catchy lyrics when I am trying to read. When I am doing preliminary research for a paper or crunching data however, anything from techno to Broadway gets the job done.

Examples of artists for reading-intensive studying: Il Divo, Jack Johnson (some), Adagio for Strings by Barber, Ave Maria by anyone really, anything by the New York Orchestra, Andrea Bocelli, Josh Groban (some) and the Boston Pops. I also have a bunch of movie soundtracks that get the job done as well including Batman Begins OST, Hannibal OST, Blackhawk Down OST, and Glory OST. 

Examples of artists for web research and paper writing: DJ Tiesto, Benny Benassi, Alan Jackson, Andrew Lloyd Webber (shows like Les Miserables, Cats), Rascal Flatts, Tim McGraw, etc. etc. 

Zenhabits.net posted a fairly good list of “tranquil” artists and particular songs that are easy on the mind and on the ears.

Zenhabits.net “tranquil” playlist

What do you listen to when you study (if anything at all)? 

No Responses Yet to “Tunes for Maintaining Focus”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

