Monday Morning…How to Clear out My To-Do List?

09Jul07

I hope you all had a great weekend!

Coming back to the lab this morning, I find that I have a massive collection of things on my to-do list.Towards the end of the spring semester, I started to read “Getting Things Done” by David Allen and have been on quest to maximize my personal productivity ever since. I have subscribed to myriad blogs, read a half dozen books, and countless journal articles on the subject. One could argue that by reading productivity books, articles, and blogs you are not focusing on what needs to be done and further prolonging your state of procrastination.

There is some truth to that, but at the same time it is necessary to learn the tools that will enable me to become as effective as possible in my endeavors. While the middle of a semester may not be the best time to be figuring out new ways to get work done, the summer is a great time for learning new things and experimenting with them. With relatively less work and more time to play with, I have sufficient time to thoroughly sift through a few good blogs every day and extract new tips and tricks.

One major hurdle that we all face when trudging through our work is getting pass the barrier of initiating the first action of a project. For me, I try to deal with this by making my environment as conducive to a solid focus as possible (see an earlier post for tips), and then I jump ‘off the deep end’ and get started. Zenhabits.net posted a fantastic article today on solutions for initiating the first actions of the items on your to-do list. One theory in the article that I particularly relate to is the use of exercise to disarm the “I don’t want to do work right now” feeling. I find that exercise is a great way to clear my head and release any built up tension I may be feeling, ultimately making it easier to make at transition from not wanting to work to a getting-things-done mood.

How to Actually Execute Your To-Do List at Zenhabits.net

No Responses Yet to “Monday Morning…How to Clear out My To-Do List?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

